STEP 1: Register to Homeschool
First things first…Do you qualify to homeschool? Check your state laws. Most will require a High School Diploma or GED.
If that’s all good CLICK HERE TO REGISTER.
It is important to know your rights and legal obligations as a homeschooler. Please take a moment to review the Homeschool Laws:
SC HOME SCHOOL LAW
Home School Legal Defense (HSLDA):
South Carolina Legislation website:
SC State Dept. of Education:
GA HOME SCHOOL LAW
Home School Legal Defense (HSLDA): http://www.hslda.org/laws/analysis/georgia.pdf
GEORGIA RESIDENTS ONLY: If you missed this above…please ensure you take this next step to be legal to homeschool in the State of Georgia.
Click here: Home Study Program Declaration Of Intent
For more information on Georgia requirements and law go here:
GA RESIDENTS-PRINT THIS DOCUMENT FOR YOUR RECORDS:
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
- Do I need a college degree to homeschool?
- No, you do not! Anyone can homeschool as long as they a high school diploma/GED.
- How much is the registration fee?
- Our registration fee is $30 per year.
- How many days per year am I required to homeschool?
- 180 days.
- How many hours per day am I required to homeschool?
- There are no set hours required to homeschool.
- Does Lowcountry Homeschool Association provide us with curriculum?
- No, we do not provide families with curriculum. We only advise and give guidance on curriculum options.
- What does “option 3” mean?
- Option 3 means that we are an accountability and support group. Option 3 is the most popular choice among homeschoolers.
- Do I have to report to the state?
- Under option 3 you are not required to report to the state. On our website in December you will need to fill out our mid-year progress report, and then at the end of the school year you will need to fill out an end of year report.
- What if I have legal questions?
- If you have any legal questions regarding homeschooling, I would highly suggest contacting the Homeschool Legal Defense Association (HSLDA) or visiting their website www.hslda.org .
- Is testing required?
- It depends on the state that you live in. South Carolina does NOT require testing but Georgia does.